Councillor responsibilities

Grantchester Parish Council is made up of nine members elected by villagers every 4 years. The Chair of the Parish Council is Lesley Sherratt and Vice-Chair is Josh Newman. The Clerk is John Hammond and the Responsible Financial Officer is Hazel Hammond.   Each Councillor has responsibility for an area of village life. Current responsibilities are shown by area in the table below. To email the responsible Councillor click on their name (if you receive no response, email the Clerk, in case the councillor is away).

Parish Council Portfolio Covers Portfolio Holders
Environment/village maintenance Street Furniture
Street Lighting
Trees (liaison with Tree Warden)
Flood liaison
Grass cutting (all areas)
Overgrown hedges
Litter picking
Emma Goddard
(support: Tim Raine)
Recreation Ground Maintenance inspections All councillors on a rota basis
Risk Assessment Risk assessment
Health & Safety Officer
Lesley Sherratt
(support: Judith Ayling)
Financial Controls RFO Line Manager
Courses & subscriptions
Legal/electoral expenses
Section 137 expenses
Tim Raine
(support: Lesley Sherratt)
Planning Local
Maggie Challis/All
Legal Matters / Corporate Governance Standing Orders
Code of Conduct
Freedom of Information
Judith Ayling
(support: Lesley Sherratt)
Meadows & Paths Meadows footpaths
Cycle paths
Lesley Sherratt
Village Hall Representative Village hall Maggie Challis
Traffic & Transport Traffic
Josh Newman
Website, IT & Communication Clerk Line Manager
Josh Newman
(support: Calum Mattocks)
Liaison Supported Housing
The elderly
Village Warden Trust liaison
To be decided
Village Car Park Operational issues
Flood risk assessment
Other risk assessment
All councillors and PCC on a rota basis
Green Projects Membership of Grantchester
Climate Change Action Committee (GCCAC)
Josh Newman

(Updated 30 12 2023)